Jersey Mike’s Franchise Cost: What It Actually Takes to Open One
Quick answer: The current 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document puts total initial investment at $436,176 to $1,162,228, confirmed across multiple independent FDD-based sources. Older or differently-sourced estimates online cite a wider $180,000 to $1.4 million range, typically pulled from the prior year’s FDD. Even sources citing the current investment range disagree on the franchise fee itself, $18,500 to $20,000 depending on which one you check. Liquid capital starts around $100,000, and ongoing fees run 6.5% royalty plus roughly 5% marketing, an 11.5% combined fee on gross sales. Because the FDD updates yearly and figures genuinely conflict even among recent sources, always request the current version directly from Jersey Mike’s rather than relying on any single third-party estimate.
Franchise cost figures for Jersey Mike’s are all over the place online, and it’s not because anyone’s making numbers up. It comes down to which year’s FDD a source is citing and how recently it was updated. Here’s what’s actually consistent across sources, and where the real disagreement comes from.
How Much Does It Cost to Open a Jersey Mike’s?
These figures reflect a cross-check across multiple franchise-data sites and FDD summaries current as of 2026:
| Cost Item | Amount |
|---|---|
| Initial franchise fee | $18,500 to $20,000 (sources disagree) |
| Minimum liquid capital required | $100,000 |
| Total initial investment (current 2026 FDD, Item 7) | $436,176 to $1,162,228 |
| Ongoing royalty fee | 6.5% of gross sales |
| Marketing/advertising fund contribution | Approximately 5% of gross sales |
| Combined ongoing fee burden | 11.5% of gross sales (royalty + marketing, before any local advertising) |
Liquid capital requirement and royalty percentage are the most consistent figures across sources. The franchise fee and the total investment range are where estimates genuinely diverge, even among sources that otherwise agree with each other, more on why below.
Why the Total Investment Range Varies So Much
Search around and you’ll find total investment estimates anywhere from about $180,000 to $1.4 million on one site, and a narrower $436,176 to $1.16 million on another. After checking multiple sources against each other, the narrower range is the one that’s consistently and specifically tied to Item 7 of the current 2026 FDD, cited independently by several franchise-data trackers. The wider range appears to trace back to the prior year’s disclosure or to aggregator sites that don’t clearly date their source. Construction costs, lease terms, and equipment pricing shift year to year, and the FDD is updated annually to reflect that, so an older citation showing up high in search results doesn’t mean it’s current.
The franchise fee is a messier case. Unlike the investment range, this isn’t simply older sources disagreeing with newer ones, two sources that both cite the current $436,176 to $1,162,228 investment range still land on different franchise fee numbers, $18,500 on one and $20,000 on the other. That’s a genuine, unresolved discrepancy rather than a clean update from an old figure to a new one, which is exactly why we’re showing it as a range instead of picking a side.
What Are the Requirements to Qualify?
Beyond the capital requirements above, a few other points show up consistently across franchise-finance sources: a veteran discount is available on the initial franchise fee, and the FDD does not reference any specific SBA lending partnership or preferred-lender program, meaning financing arrangements are left to the individual applicant rather than being pre-set by the franchisor.
Jersey Mike’s Just Went Public, Does That Change Anything for Franchisees?
Recent ownership changes, in brief
Jersey Mike’s sold a majority stake to the private equity firm Blackstone in a deal valuing the company at roughly $8 billion, and completed its IPO on July 30, 2026, debuting on the New York Stock Exchange under the ticker JMKE. Shares priced at $23, the midpoint of a marketed $21 to $25 range, raising about $1 billion. The stock opened at $21, below the IPO price, and closed its first day down roughly 5.7%, valuing the company at approximately $7.3 billion.
Leadership changed too, and it’s worth being direct about this rather than glossing over it: Charlie Morrison, former CEO of Wingstop, took over as Jersey Mike’s CEO in April 2026. Founder Peter Cancro, who ran the company for nearly five decades after buying it at 17 in 1971, stepped back into the chairman role rather than remaining CEO. For anyone evaluating a franchise relationship, who’s actually running the company day to day is a real, practical fact, not just a footnote, so it’s worth confirming current leadership and any operational changes directly with the franchise development team rather than assuming continuity.
The core terms covered above, the franchise fee, royalty percentage, and liquid capital requirement, are not reported to have changed as a direct result of the IPO. That said, going from a 70-year-old private, founder-led company to a publicly traded one with a new CEO in the span of about two years is a significant shift in how the business is run and who’s accountable to whom.
How Does This Compare to Other Sandwich Franchises?
We haven’t independently verified current franchise cost figures for competitors like Jimmy John’s to make a direct dollar-for-dollar comparison here, and doing that properly deserves its own research rather than a rough guess. What we can say with confidence: Jersey Mike’s average unit volume has been reported at over $1.3 million per location in recent disclosures, which is a genuinely strong figure for the fast-casual sandwich category and part of why the brand attracted private equity interest in the first place. For how the two brands compare on the food and ordering side, see our Jimmy John’s vs Jersey Mike’s guide.
Related Pages
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does it cost to open a Jersey Mike’s franchise?
The current 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document puts total initial investment at $436,176 to $1,162,228. Older FDD years and some aggregator sites cite a wider $180,000 to $1.4 million range, so always confirm which year’s disclosure a figure comes from. The initial franchise fee itself is disputed even among current sources, reported as either $18,500 or $20,000.
Why do franchise cost estimates for Jersey Mike’s vary so much?
The Franchise Disclosure Document is updated annually, and the estimated investment range changes with it based on real construction, lease, and equipment costs from the prior year. Older or outdated FDD citations will show different numbers than the current one, which is why third-party sites often disagree.
How much liquid capital do you need to open a Jersey Mike’s?
Multiple sources consistently cite a minimum of $100,000 in liquid capital as a starting requirement, separate from the total investment amount, which is typically financed.
What ongoing fees does a Jersey Mike’s franchisee pay?
A royalty fee of 6.5% of gross sales is consistently reported across sources, paid on an ongoing basis in addition to a marketing fund contribution.
Did Jersey Mike’s going public change anything for franchisees?
Jersey Mike’s completed its IPO on July 30, 2026 on the NYSE under the ticker JMKE, pricing at $23 a share and valuing the company at about $7.3 billion, following a majority stake sale to Blackstone. Leadership also changed: former Wingstop CEO Charlie Morrison became Jersey Mike’s CEO in April 2026, with founder Peter Cancro moving to chairman. The core franchise fee and royalty structure are not reported to have changed because of the IPO itself, but prospective franchisees should confirm current terms and leadership directly given how much has shifted in a short period.